Hartland Legion prepares to host Dominion 8-Ball Championships

by | May 14, 2024

Pool shooters from across Canada will arrive in the Covered Bridge Community this month

The Covered Bridge Community will welcome top pool shooters across Canada this month as the Royal Canadian Legion Branch 24 hosts the Dominion 8-Ball Championships.

Event co-chair Carla Orser said plans are proceeding well as the branch prepares for the national tournament on May 24, 25 and 26. 

She said the tournament will feature two teams from New Brunswick, plus representatives from Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia; Ontario, Manitoba/North West Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta/North West Territories and British Columbia. 

Orser said the branch will welcome 40 players and three Royal Canadian Legion Dominion Command representatives. 

She said the visitors will stay at the Best Western Woodstock, with the branch arranging daily transportation back and forth to the Hartland Legion. 

Orser, who is co-chairing the event with Bobby Allison, said the tournament’s opening ceremonies will begin Friday, May 24 at 7 p.m. 

The Hartland Legion originally applied to host the Dominion 8-Ball Championship five years ago. Orser said the branch found out it would host the 2024 event last year. The Legion executive and members began preparations last November. 

Hartland Branch President Gary Bovard said members are excited to host the national event. 

Hartland Mayor Tracey DeMerchant praised Legion members for bringing this tournament to the town and the branch’s ongoing support of the community. 

New Brunswick will have two teams vying for the Dominion title, with the provincial title holders from Fredection and the host squad from Hartland. 

The host squad features the twosomes of Cecil Rideout and Allan Tompkins and Harold Buckingham and Byron Foster. 

The New Brunswick champions include Floyd Paul and Plemon Mercer, William Wall and William Doherty. 

The remaining teams are as follows:

Newfoundland and Labrador — Robert Hall and Dwayne Broomfield, Carl Ringer and David Locke

Prince Edward Island — Edward Arsenault and Stewart Perry, Yvon Arsenault and Rick Gallant

Nova Scotia — Bob Massia and Christopher Marsh, Bruce Lilly and Harry O’Donnell 

Ontario — Mark Johnston and Darryl Doolittle, Brandon Raddatz and  Colton Keuhl

Manitoba/North West Ontario — Marvin Quiamnao and Andrew Spence, Richard Urbanik and Rich Hutcheon

Saskatchewan — Richard Lee and Wayne Westbury, Ikrma Zanidean and Dennis Klyne

Alberta/North West Territories — Terry Levesque and Henry Stekelenburg, Sean Bateman and Daniel Davidson

British Columbia/Yukon — Curtis Beech and William Unwin, Murray Beech and Craig Walters. 

FOREST FIRE INDEX – click image for current status

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have successfully subscribed! A confirmation email has been sent to your email account. To complete your subscription, open the email and click on the confirmation link. (If you can't find it in your inbox, try your junk and spam folders.) If you'd like to receive our updates more than once a week, please click the "Manage your subscription" link at the bottom of your Newsletter.